DE FR EN

Swiss go empty as Lukas Baum from Germany secures the gold medal

Lukas Baum from Germany wins the men’s junior title of the European Championship. The victory on the Gurten marks the German’s biggest success in his young career. “I prepared well for this event and felt really good during training”, the

Lukas Baum from Germany wins the men’s junior title of the European Championship. The victory on the Gurten marks the German’s biggest success in his young career. “I prepared well for this event and felt really good during training”, the 18 year-old said after his victory. On the downhill section of the course the Italian Gioele Bertolini was strongest and temporarily took the lead. “I didn’t want to take any unnecessary risks, so I waited until the last lap where I could overtake Gioele Bertolini during the climb”, the victorious Baum stated at the finish line. The young Italian already won his second medal in Bern: After winning with the Italian team in the relay on Thursday evening, he now adds silver to gold.

The battle for third was decided in a sprint between Niels Rasmussen from Denmark and Romain Boutet from France. The young Danish won the bronze medal by hair’s breadth. Frank Brückner, coach of the German team, was pleased with the result of his youngsters, four of which finished in the top twenty: “We knew that we had three to four strong cyclists on our team who could make an impact on the race.” Brückner’s colleague and Swiss national coach Bruno Diethelm couldn’t hide the disappointment with the result of his team: “A top ten result was our goal. Unfortunately, we couldn’t deliver today.” Nicolas Fischer, the best Swiss and finishing 15th, looked back on his race: “I could not get into a good rhythm during the first half of the race and found myself with stomach problems; the second half was a lot better.”

Final standing, junior men (26,6 km)

1. Lukas Baum (De) 1:12:45. 2. Gioele Bertolini (It) 1:21. 3. Niels Rasmussen (Dä) 1:33. 4. Romain Boutet (Fr) gl. Zt. 5. Louis Bendixen (Dä) 1:46. 6. Georg Egger (De) 2:02. 7. Neilo Perrin Garnier (Fr) 2:17. 8. Jan Vastl (Tsch) 2:23. 9. Milan Vader (Ho) 2:32. 10. Piotr Konwa (Pol) 2:46. Ferner: 15. Nicolas Fischer (Solothurn) 4:45. 24. Andrin Beeli (Sagogn) 6:37. 28. Simon Vitzthum (Rheineck) 7:13 29. Mike Hermann (Bad Ragaz)

Official Results

Author: Martin Platter / 22.06.2013

DE FR EN

Schweizer Junioren blieben unter den Erwartungen

Der Deutsche Juniorenmeister Lukas Baum feiert mit dem Gewinn der Cross-Country-Europameisterschaften auf dem Berner Gurten sein bisher wertvollstes Ergebnis. «Ich habe mich gezielt auf diesen Anlass vorbereitet und fühlte mich im Training superstark», sagte der 18-jährige Pfälzer. Bergab war der

Der Deutsche Juniorenmeister Lukas Baum feiert mit dem Gewinn der Cross-Country-Europameisterschaften auf dem Berner Gurten sein bisher wertvollstes Ergebnis. «Ich habe mich gezielt auf diesen Anlass vorbereitet und fühlte mich im Training superstark», sagte der 18-jährige Pfälzer. Bergab war der Italiener Bertolini, der zwei Tage zuvor bereits Gold im Team Relay gewonnen hatte, zwar der Schnellste und führte deswegen sogar temporär. «Ich wollte kein unnötiges Risiko eingehen und habe gewartet bis zur letzten Runde, wo ich ihn bergauf ein- und überholen konnte», zeichnet Baum den Rennverlauf nach. Bertolini blieb die Silbermedaille.

Im Kampf um Platz drei kam es zum Sprint zwischen dem Dänen Niels Rasmussen und dem Franzosen Romain Boutet, den Rasmussen hauchdünn für sich entschied. «Es hat sich bereits bei den letzten Weltcuprennen gezeigt, dass wir nun wieder drei bis vier konkurrenzfähige Nachwuchsfahrer haben, die ein Rennen bestimmen können», zeigte sich der deutsche Nachwuchs-Bundestrainer Frank Brückner zufrieden mit den Resultaten seiner Schützlinge, von denen sich vier unter den besten 20 zu klassieren vermochten. Weniger glücklich war der Schweizer Nationaltrainer Bruno Diethelm: «Wir hatten uns eigentlich einen Top-Ten-Platz zum Ziel gesetzt. Leider hat es heute nicht geklappt.» Als bester hiesiger Fahrer erreichte Nicolas Fischer das Ziel als 15. «Ich fand bis Rennhälfte keinen Rhythmus und hatte Probleme mit dem Magen. Danach konnte ich endlich zusetzen», begründete der Riehener sein Abschneiden.

Junioren (26,6 km)
1. Lukas Baum (De) 1:12:45. 2. Gioele Bertolini (It) 1:21. 3. Niels Rasmussen (Dä) 1:33. 4. Romain Boutet (Fr) gl. Zt. 5. Louis Bendixen (Dä) 1:46. 6. Georg Egger (De) 2:02. 7. Neilo Perrin Garnier (Fr) 2:17. 8. Jan Vastl (Tsch) 2:23. 9. Milan Vader (Ho) 2:32. 10. Piotr Konwa (Pol) 2:46. Ferner: 15. Nicolas Fischer (Solothurn) 4:45. 24. Andrin Beeli (Sagogn) 6:37. 28. Simon Vitzthum (Rheineck) 7:13 29. Mike Hermann (Bad Ragaz) gl. Zt.

Offizielle Resultate

Verfasser: Martin Platter / 22.06.2013